APD2 – Assignment 4 – Composite

Kim Hurley-01

Kim Hurley-02

The purpose of the images produced for this assignment is advertising. I chose the same product for the two pictures, but in different flavors to emphasize the cohesive nature of the concept. This is a reason why the images work well together. The viewer can see the link between the two images, and can even image what other images from this series could look like, had I chosen different flavors. The overall message of this ‘ad’ is that the jams produced by Première Moisson are natural and do not contain several unpronounceable ingredients. The main ingredient is fruit (strawberry or blueberry in this case).

Creating this series was very interesting. After thinking about it for a while, I realized that the best way to shoot the fruits while keeping the same vantage point as the jar was to have them ‘float’ in the air above the jar. I believe that if I had shot them differently, at another angle, the result wouldn’t have been as realistic as the one I obtained. In order to do this, I took a fishing line, wraped it around the fruits and I had my assistant hold the line while I was shooting the fruits. Since the fruits span, I could shoot the same fruit several times without it looking the same. In post-production, I selected the fruits I wanted from many images, and pasted them on the original image that only showed the jar. I was able to play with the size and the orientation of each fruit for a more natural look.

Laisser un commentaire