Kim Hurley – ALP2 – Assignment 2 – Pre-production

1. What type of available lighting will you be encountering?

The available light is a mix of daylight, flash and slightly yellow fluorescent lights.

2. What is your intention in terms of how you plan to use the available light, how will you be addressing the Colour Balance for this mixed light situation?

Since the background will be mostly lit by natural light and I plan on using the natural light as a fill, I might use an amber gel on the softbox lighting on the other side of my subject’s face (main light source) if there’s a difference in the color temperature. As far as the white balance, I will probably set it to flash as it will be my main light source.

3. What is the reason for your lens choice? (Do you want the compression of a long lens or the exaggerated perspective of a wide angle, fixed focal length or zoom)?

I will be using a 50mm lens, as I want a bit of compression but I still want to show the background, and I also want the focus to be on the subject and not the environment.

4. What words would you use to describe the Visual Style you are looking to create in this image?

I’m looking to create a very light, relaxed and natural environment. My subject is a sexologist and she needs to appear approachable instead of looking severe and serious.

5. What aperture do you plan to use and why? Explain.

My aperture will probably be around f/5.6 to let a lot of natural light in and to have the background out of focus.

6. What shutter speed to you plan to use and why? Explain.

The shutter speed should be around 1/200s or slower in order to let in the ambient light.

7. What ISO do you plan to use and why?

I plan to use the lowest ISO possible, around 200-400, or lower if possible. Since I will be shooting my subject close to a window, I should be able to use a low ISO, depending on how sunny it is that day.

8. Are there any technical problems that will need to be addressed at the shoot or any steps you feel will be needed in post-production?

I will probably have to adjust the white balance a bit in post-production, but I’ll try different adjustements (gels and no gels, white balance in camera) on location to ensure minimal work after the shoot.

9. What equipment you will need for the shoot?

For the shoot, I will be using flash (2 white lightening and vagabond), one medium softbox, one umbrella  pocket wizards, light meter, 2 light stands, tripod. Also, I might be using a foam core to bounce the light coming from the umbrella, but I’m not sure yet, I’ll have to see what the background looks like without the foam core first.

10. Who or What will be your subject and how will they be represented?

My suject will be Caroline Messier, a certified sexologist and Ph.D student.

Inspiration images

image1

image2

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

image4

Lighting Diagram

LightingSetup

Laisser un commentaire