Assignment 1 – Final Image and Self Assessment

DSC_0173

f/4.5, 1/60, ISO 400

DSC_0179

DSC_0180

DSC_0076

1. What worked well for you on this assignment.

My subject was very cooperative and he didn’t seen to mind posing for me. He was very relaxed, which helped me relax as well. Also, I was able to shoot where I wanted to photograph my subject, so I didn’t have to come up with a plan B, which was a relief considering the time was limited.

2. What would change in your approach if you had the opportunity to go back and do it again.

If I could change something in my approach, I guess I would like to bit a bit more experimental and creative with my approach. The final image I chose was a pose suggested by the teacher, and I’m quite pleased with the result. I hadn’t even thought of trying that pose.

3. Any information you would like to contribute to accompany your image.

At first my goal was to get a moodier shot of my subject, but in the end I chose to simply have my subject well-lit and to show his surroundings. Since I wanted to show my subject in his work environment, I thought it was cool to have him seated on the machine.

4. What did you learn about this type of photography.

I learned that even though we can’t integrate creative exterior elements and don’t have much control over what the person is going to look like, his/her ease in front of the camera and the background, you really to think about how you want to compose your shot and get creative in that way. It might not be the most exciting kind of photography out there, but there’s still ways to have fun and be proud of your work.

5. What did you learn about yourself as a photographer from doing this assignment?

I already knew that I was comfortable around people, but this confirmed it. To meet one person and immediately have him pose for you can be quite challenging for some people, but I see that it’s really not something that bothers me. I did learn that I should trust my instincts a little more. Sometimes I’m afraid to try different things that I had not planned beforehand, and I really must try to just go with the flow of the shoot and have my subject do other things.

Laisser un commentaire