Kim Hurley – ALP2 – Assignment 3 – Pre-production

1. What type of available lighting will you be encountering?

The available light is a mix of daylight, flash and slightly yellow fluorescent lights.

2. What is your intention in terms of how you plan to use the available light, how will you be addressing the Colour Balance for this mixed light situation?

In order to get the soft look I’m aiming for and not depend entirely on the weather conditions the day of the shoot, I will close the curtains to block the daylight and use a flash with a scrim jim. I will bring a white cloth to diffuse this light source even more need there be. Also, as fill, I will try to use a reflector as fill to highlight the front of the food. If this is not strong enough then I will use a small softbox. Also, for one of the shots, were we will see the wall behind the food (as I will shoot straight on), I will probably have to light the wall with a softbox pointed upward.

3. What is the reason for your lens choice? (Do you want the compression of a long lens or the exaggerated perspective of a wide angle, fixed focal length or zoom)?

I will be using a 70-200mm lens, as I want the nice compression of the long lens. I want the food to be the star of the food, so I will use a very shallow DOP.

4. What words would you use to describe the Visual Style you are looking to create in this image?

I’m looking to create a very light, soft environment. Since I want the focus to be on the food and I don’t want the props to overpower the images and the images to look too staged, «Less is more» will be my motto for the shoot.

5. What aperture do you plan to use and why? Explain.

My aperture will probably be around f/5.6 to let a lot of natural light in and to have the background out of focus.

6. What shutter speed to you plan to use and why? Explain.

The shutter speed should be around 1/100s or slower in order to let in the ambient light.

7. What ISO do you plan to use and why?

I plan to use the lowest ISO possible, around 200.  Since I will be shooting with a slow shutter speed and large aperture, I should be able to use a low ISO.

8. Are there any technical problems that will need to be addressed at the shoot or any steps you feel will be needed in post-production?

I will probably have to adjust the white balance a bit in post-production, but I’ll try different adjustements (gels and no gels, white balance in camera) on location to ensure minimal work after the shoot.

9. What equipment you will need for the shoot?

For the shoot, I will be using flash (1 white lightening) as a backlight, maybe 1 white lighting for the wall + small soft box, a scrim jim, a white translucent cloth, a reflector,  pocket wizards, light meter, tripod. For the food, I will bring my own wooden table top, dishcloths, jam, coffee, a coffee pot, a glass, a plate, a spoon and the food. I will also bring wetones, Q-tips, olive oil and a small brush.

10. Who or What will be your subject and how will they be represented?

My suject will be delicious muffins.

Inspiration images

muffin1

muffin3

muffin2

scones

 

Lighting diagram

LightingSetup

Laisser un commentaire