Assignment 3 – Final Images and Self-Assessment

Image1

f/5.6, 1/125, ISO 200

 

image2

f/5.6, 1/125, ISO 200

1. What worked well for you on this assignment.

I was really well prepared, so I knew exactly what I wanted. I had drew a little sketch of how I wanted each elements to be places in the 2 images, so this reference really helped me stick to what I had envisioned. Once I put everything into places and looked through my viewfinder, I was able to make the final adjustments and to really have images I was happy about.

2. What would change in your approach if you had the opportunity to go back and do it again.

Since I wasn’t able to shoot with the lens I was planning on using, I would say that next time I’ll make sure that I have all the elements I had been planning for. Fortunately for me, I had another lens I was able to used and it turned out fine, but it threw me off guard a little. Also, for one of my shots, I brought a piece of pink cardboard to use as a « wall », but it really didn’t work, so I had to change my angle. Next time I’ll test it at home first before bringing homemade background to the set.

3. Any information you would like to contribute to accompany your image.

My assistant was really helpful with the final adjustments I made to my lighting. He helped me try different options to ensure the best final result possible.

4. What did you learn about this type of photography.

The planning process and the accessories can make or break your pictures. If you don’t plan every accessory and even the lighting (never rely on the sun, because you never know what kind of day you’re gonna get), it can ruin your shoot. In my opinion, you have to be very detail-oriented in order to be a successful food photographer. I really enjoyed doing this assignment, it was a lot of fun!

5. What did you learn about yourself as a photographer from doing this assignment?

I did learn that I might have what it takes to become a food photographer. I really enjoyed searching for inspiration images, the accessories, trying to bake the perfect muffins and finally getting the results I I had in mind. I’m a really patient person, so all the planning process and the careful set up of each element were far from a hassle for me.

Laisser un commentaire