Kim Hurley – ALP2 – Assignment 4 – Pre-production

1. What type of available lighting will you be encountering?

The available light is daylight, as I hope to be shooting outside.

2. What is your intention in terms of how you plan to use the available light, how will you be addressing the Colour Balance for this mixed light situation?

Since I will be shooting my subject on steps of the main entrance of the school (on Sherbrooke), the sun will be behind my subject. So essentially the sun will light the background and I will use a flash to light my subject’s face.

3. What is the reason for your lens choice? (Do you want the compression of a long lens or the exaggerated perspective of a wide angle, fixed focal length or zoom)?

I will use a 35mm lens. I’m using a wide angle because I think the front of the school had really nice architectural features and I want to show some of it.

4. What words would you use to describe the Visual Style you are looking to create in this image?

I’m looking to create a lighter feel that one would expect considering the subject I’ve chosen. I don’t want the picture to be overly dramatic and dark.

5. What aperture do you plan to use and why? Explain.

My aperture will probably be around f/5.6 to let a lot of natural light in and to have the background out of focus.

6. What shutter speed to you plan to use and why? Explain.

The shutter speed should be around 1/60-1/80 in order to let in the ambient light.

7. What ISO do you plan to use and why?

I plan to use the lowest ISO possible, around 200.  Since I will be shooting with a slow shutter speed and large aperture, I should be able to use a low ISO, if the outside weather allows it.

8. Are there any technical problems that will need to be addressed at the shoot or any steps you feel will be needed in post-production?

I will try to fix the white balance on site so that minimal work is involved in the post-production process. The major technical problem at the shoot might be the radio slave not working well in the sun, so I’ll make sure to shield it with a piece of foil or an umbrella.

9. What equipment you will need for the shoot?

White lighting + small soft box as main light source,  a reflector as fill,  a vagabond, a light stand, pocket wizards, light meter, tripod.

10. Who or What will be your subject and how will they be represented?

My subject will be Véronique Prince, a TVA journalist who covered the school shooting.

 

Inspiration images

image4

images

 

image5

 

Lighting Diagram

LightingSetup

Laisser un commentaire