Kim Hurley – APL2 – Assignment 1 – Pre-production

1. What type of available lighting will you be encountering?

The lighting in the lab is fluorescent light.

2. What is your intention in terms of how you plan to use the available light, how will you be addressing the Colour Balance for this mixed light situation?

I will try as much as possible not to place my subject directly underneath a ceiling light to avoid harsh shadow under his/her eyes. If needed, I will add a green gel to the flash lighting the background to match the available light, and I will use the fluorescent white balance on the camera. I might also use an orange gel to warm up the image a bit. 

3. What is the reason for your lens choice? (Do you want the compression of a long lens or the exaggerated perspective of a wide angle, fixed focal length or zoom)?

I will use the 50 mm to shoot my subject. Since I might shoot vertically, I don’t want the subject to be distorted therefore I couldn’t use my 35 mm. I also want to show the machinery surrounding the subject, and I think the 50 mm will help me do that. 

4. What words would you use to describe the Visual Style you are looking to create in this image?

Moody, natural, in action (as much as possible).

5. What aperture do you plan to use and why? Explain.

I will use an aperture between f/4-5.6 to emphasize the subject and blur the background. 

6. What shutter speed to you plan to use and why? Explain.

I will try to stay around 1/100th or slower in order to let in the ambient light. Since the subject won’t be really moving it should work. 

7. What ISO do you plan to use and why?

I plan to use the lowest ISO possible, around 200 if possible. Since I really want to shot to be clean and avoid grain, I’ll make sure to change the speed and the aperture before boosting the ISO. 

8. Are there any technical problems that will need to be addressed at the shoot or any steps you feel will be needed in post-production?

Since I would like to shoot my subject in action, I might have a bit of trouble with the tight space. I will have to pay close attention and not place the subject too close to the light source. Other than that, I will try to fix the light color with the gels on site, but I might have to correct it in post production.

9. What equipment you will need for the shoot?

Profoto flash (or white lightening + vagabond), one small softbox, one umbrella with 1/4 cto gel and 15 green gel, pocket wizards, light meter, 2 light stands, clips to attach the gels to the umbrella, tripod

10. Who or What will be your subject and how will they be represented?

My subject will be a mechanical engineering student using one of the pieces of equipment they learned to manipulate. The student will likely appear focused on what he/she will be doing. 

images

Mech222343

PhD-mech-engr

mechanical-engineering-01

Lighting Diagram

LightingSetup

Laisser un commentaire